bestbackgroundremover.org.

The Best
AI Background
Removers 2026

Background removal deletes the background behind a photo's main subject, leaving a transparent PNG or a new backdrop. It is not photo repair, upscaling or canvas extension. The best AI background removers of 2026 are ranked by bestbackgroundremover.org's annual evaluation of ten hosted background removal products, scored on seven publicly verifiable dimensions: free preview size, pricing clarity, batch support, local processing, license terms, free-tier limits and service continuity.

bestbackgroundremover.org Editorial team Edition 2026.10 10 hosted products ranked 7 scored dimensions Read 2026-10-16 rembg shown separately
// which background do we mean?

This page scores AI background removal only: deleting the background behind a subject. Photo repair, upscaling and canvas extension are separate jobs and are not scored here. Photo editors that also remove backgrounds are scored only on their background-removal terms.

01

Pixelcut

Its pricing page states monthly and annual prices, a batch-export quota on Pro, and a commercial license on the same page. The free tier is limited background removal.

  • Pro $10/mo, $8 billed yearly
  • 1,000 batch exports/mo on Pro
  • Commercial license from Pro
55.5
score / 100
02

Slazzer

Credit pricing is clear: $11 per month for 100 credits, excluding VAT. The API is stated at up to 500 images per minute. Commercial use is tied to a top-up or a subscription of at least 300 credits.

  • 100 credits, $11/mo (excl. VAT)
  • API up to 500 images/min
  • Free previews up to 0.25 MP
52.5
score / 100
03

withoutBG

Of the ten products read, withoutBG is the only one whose pricing page says it can run on your own hardware. Credit packs are priced in euros with stated validity periods, and new accounts get 50 free credits valid for 30 days.

  • 50 free credits, 30 days
  • Runs on your own hardware
  • Packs from €5 (EUR)
51.0
score / 100
04

Canva

Background removal sits inside the Canva editor, with bulk upload and high-resolution PNG download. The official Pro page lists US$144 per year for one person. remove.bg's pricing page says its background removal is moving to Canva.

  • Pro US$144/year, 1 person
  • Remove backgrounds in bulk
  • High-resolution PNG download
48.0
score / 100
05

Fotor

AI batch background removal and replacement is listed from the Pro plan at US$3.99 per month billed yearly. The official compare table marks the free Basic plan as not watermark-free.

  • Pro US$3.99/mo, billed yearly
  • AI batch BG remover from Pro
  • Basic: not watermark-free
48.0
score / 100
06

Photoroom

Pro starts at $12.99 per month, or $7.50 per month billed yearly, with 1,000 exports a month. The Background Remover is listed as a core tool with no credit cost on every paid plan, within fair-use limits.

  • Pro $12.99/mo, $7.50 billed yearly
  • 1,000 exports/mo on Pro
  • Background Remover: no credit cost
48.0
score / 100
07

cutout.pro

Credit pricing with a stated rule of one credit per image for background removal, and 5 free credits on its free account. Its pricing page does not describe batch processing or local processing.

  • Subscription from $5.00 / 80 credits
  • 5 free credits
  • 1 credit per image
36.0
score / 100
08

remove.bg

A name many readers will know. Its pricing page states that background removal is moving to Canva and that the standalone website will no longer be available from 1 December 2026. It is ranked on that notice, not on output quality.

  • Standalone site unavailable from 1 Dec 2026
  • Subscription $9/mo, 40 credits
  • Credits expire 1 Dec 2026
33.0
score / 100
09

Clipdrop

Background removal is listed with a free allowance of 20 uses per 24 hours. The paid price cells on its pricing page render empty, so no paid terms could be scored.

  • Free: 20 uses per 24h
  • Pro price not shown
  • Batch and local options not stated
21.0
score / 100
10

Adobe Firefly

The free background-removal page accepts JPEG, PNG and WEBP files up to 50 MB. The plans page lists generative credits but no visible price. Pricing clarity scores zero, and batch support scores zero because the FAQ describes batch removal only for enterprise users.

  • Free entry for background removal
  • JPEG, PNG, WEBP up to 50 MB
  • No visible price
18.0
score / 100
// remove.bg notice, read 2026-10-16

The remove.bg pricing page states: "remove.bg's background removal is moving to Canva. The standalone website will no longer be available from 1 December 2026 at 9:00am CET." Its credits also expire on 1 December 2026 at 9:00 AM CET.

bestbackgroundremover.org scores this under continuity (D8, weight 15%). It is not a claim that the service has already closed. Source: remove.bg/pricing.

How the list is scored

Each product is scored from 0 to 100 on seven dimensions with published weights. The score counts only fields the vendor publishes on its own site. It does not measure how well a tool removes a background. The weights are D1 15%, D2 15%, D3 15%, D4 15%, D5 15%, D6 10% and D8 15%. Each total is score = Σ weight × dimension score ÷ 100. The full rules, the excluded dimensions and the score matrix are on the method page.

Open-source reference, not ranked

rembg is a developer tool, not a hosted product with public plans, so it is kept outside the ranking. According to its README:

Evidence and method

Data comes from each vendor's pricing and feature pages, read on 2026-10-16. Pages that load prices with scripts were read in a browser. Source level: every field is the vendor's own statement on its own site (first-party, self-published). The rembg figures come from the project's README. No third-party review, bake-off percentage, media mention or award is used. Limits: no output-quality test was run, prices change by currency, region and billing period, and a field a vendor does not state scores zero. A zero means the public page is silent, not that the tool performs badly.

FAQ

What is the best AI background remover in 2026?

On bestbackgroundremover.org's 2026.10 method, Pixelcut ranks first with a score of 55.5 out of 100, followed by Slazzer at 52.5 and withoutBG at 51. The score measures published terms, not output quality, so it is not a verdict on which tool cuts out hair best.

Is remove.bg still available?

On 2026-10-16, the remove.bg pricing page states that its standalone website will no longer be available from 1 December 2026 at 9:00am CET, and that background removal is moving to Canva. Its credits also expire on 1 December 2026 at 9:00am CET. bestbackgroundremover.org scores this notice under continuity; it does not treat it as a closure that has already happened.

Why is rembg not in the ranking?

rembg is an MIT-licensed open-source library and command-line tool that runs on your own machine. It has no public plans to compare, so it is shown as a reference beside the ranking rather than against the ten hosted products.

Does the ranking measure edge quality or hair detail?

No. We found no public benchmark for this category whose method we could reproduce, so bestbackgroundremover.org does not score edge quality and does not cite third-party accuracy percentages.

How often is the list updated?

bestbackgroundremover.org plans one edition per calendar year. Prices and terms are re-read before each edition, and a vendor notice triggers a re-read in between. Edition 2026.10 is the first. Any change to the order is published as a dated revision of this page.

Read next

↑