Canva vs Photoroom: Background Removal in a Design Suite or a Photo Editor
Canva vs Photoroom on published terms: Pro pricing, bulk background removal, batch exports and license wording, with the two products tied on score. Verdict first.
Verdict: The two score the same, 48.0 each, so this is a real tie and not a rounding choice. Choose Canva if the cutout is one step inside a design you are already building, with templates, text and layout. Choose Photoroom if you run a steady stream of photos through one editor and want a monthly export quota to plan around.
For this comparison, background removal means separating the main subject from the photo’s backdrop. Canva and Photoroom both sell it for everyday product and portrait cutouts, but they are built differently. Canva is a design suite, and its background remover is one tool inside the editor. Photoroom is a photo editor, and its Background Remover is listed as a core tool on paid plans. This post compares only the background-removal terms each vendor publishes, read in a browser on 2026-10-16. Output quality is left out, since this edition ran no image test.
Scorecard
| field | Canva | Photoroom |
|---|---|---|
| Pro price | US$144 per year for one person, yearly view (pricing) | $12.99 per month, or $7.50 per month billed yearly (pricing) |
| Free access | Free plan with up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses, not stated for background removal | Start free trial |
| Background removal | BG Remover in the editor; remove background is listed among Pro AI tools, with fair-use limits | Core tool with no credit cost on paid plans |
| Batch | Remove backgrounds in bulk (feature page) | Batch editing listed; Pro includes 1,000 exports per month |
| Upload formats | JPG, PNG, HEIC, HEIF | Not stated on the read page |
| Export | High-resolution PNG | Not stated on the read page |
| License wording | Not stated | Not stated |
| Service notice | None found; remove.bg’s notice names Canva as the destination of its service | None found |
| Total, D1 to D8 | 48.0 | 48.0 |
Price units
Canva prices its Pro plan per year for one person, and Photoroom prices per month with a discount for billing yearly. Converting Photoroom’s billed-yearly figure gives $90 a year, which is $7.50 multiplied by 12. That conversion is ours, not a figure either vendor prints. On the page figures, the Photoroom plan is cheaper on paper, but Canva Pro includes the design suite, so the two prices are not for the same bundle. Both pricing pages state the price, the billing unit and the billing period, so both score 100 on pricing clarity. That is why the totals tie.
Batch work
Canva’s feature page says you can upload a batch of images and remove their backgrounds in one go. Photoroom lists batch editing and gives Pro a 1,000-export monthly quota. If your job is a fixed number of images that go out at once, the Photoroom quota is the number to plan around. If your job is a set of images that move into layouts afterwards, the Canva workflow keeps everything in one place.
What the remove.bg notice changes
remove.bg’s pricing page says its background removal is moving to Canva, and that its standalone website is no longer available from 1 December 2026. That is a statement from remove.bg about its own service. It is not a Canva announcement, and this post does not infer anything about terms or partnership arrangements from it. For a buyer, the practical point is that Canva is the place the notice points to, so a Canva account may be the more durable home for a background-removal workflow. Check Canva’s own terms before you rely on that.
Where each one fits
Canva fits a team that makes posts, flyers or product sheets, where a cutout is one step in a longer design. Photoroom fits a person or a small team whose main job is the photo, with exports counted against a monthly quota.
Neither score says which one removes hair or glass better. Neither product states a full-resolution free preview, so both score zero on that dimension, and the total cannot exceed 85 for any product on this edition.
Evidence and method
The sources are the two pricing pages and Canva’s background-remover feature page, read on 2026-10-16. The total for each product comes from the method page, which publishes each rule and weight. The license dimension is zero for both, because neither page states commercial use. A later page that states it would change the score, and this post would be updated as a dated revision. For the upload and licence checks that come before a purchase, read the checklist for a background remover.
FAQ
Do Canva and Photoroom score the same?
Yes. Both score 48.0 on bestbackgroundremover.org's 2026.10 method. On the list, Canva appears above Photoroom only because ties are sorted alphabetically by name.
Which one costs less?
The units differ. Canva's pricing page lists Pro at US$144 per year for one person. Photoroom Pro is $12.99 per month, or $7.50 per month billed yearly, which works out to $90 a year. The plans include different features, so price alone does not decide it.
Does Canva's background remover work on a batch?
Canva's background remover page states that you can upload a batch of images and remove their backgrounds in one go. The page does not state a per-plan limit for that feature.
Read the method · Back to the list · All versus posts and guides