remove.bg vs Photoroom: Which Background Remover Fits a 2026 Workflow
remove.bg vs Photoroom on published terms: plan prices, batch options, license wording and remove.bg's 1 December 2026 service notice. Verdict first.
Verdict: Photoroom ranks higher on bestbackgroundremover.org’s 2026.10 method, 48.0 against 33.0. Its paid plans list a monthly export quota and a background remover that costs no credits. remove.bg is scored down on continuity, because its own pricing page says the standalone website will no longer be available from 1 December 2026. If you need one cutout before that date, remove.bg’s pay-as-you-go pack, 3 credits for $3, is the lowest-cost option on its pricing page. Its credits expire on the same day, so buy only what you can use.
In this comparison, background removal is the cut that lifts a photo’s main subject off its backdrop, producing a transparent PNG or a new scene. Both products do this. Photoroom is a broader photo editor, and its Pro plan also includes 8,000 AI credits. remove.bg is moving its background removal into Canva. This comparison covers only the background-removal terms each vendor publishes on its pricing page, read in a browser on 2026-10-16. Output quality is left out, since this edition ran no image test.
Scorecard
| field | remove.bg | Photoroom |
|---|---|---|
| Entry plan | 40 credits for $9 per month (pricing) | Pro: $12.99 per month, or $7.50 per month billed yearly (pricing) |
| Pay-as-you-go | 3 credits for $3; credits expire 1 December 2026 at 9:00 AM CET | Not in the fields read |
| Free access | Basics at no cost, plus 1 trial credit for AI edits | Start free trial |
| Batch processing | Bulk editing listed as a feature | Batch editing listed; Pro includes 1,000 exports per month |
| Background remover | Core product; per-image credit cost not stated on the page read | Core tool with no credit cost on paid plans, within fair-use limits |
| Local option | Not stated | Not stated |
| License wording | Not stated | Not stated |
| Service notice | Standalone website no longer available from 1 December 2026; background removal moving to Canva | None found on the read date |
| Total, D1 to D8 | 33.0 | 48.0 |
Every cell comes from the vendor’s own page. A cell marked “not stated” scores zero under the method, and it is not treated as a finding about the product.
Where the gap comes from
Two rows decide the score. On continuity (D8, weight 15%), remove.bg receives zero because of its notice. On batch processing (D3, weight 15%), both products score fully, since each lists batch work on its own site. Photoroom also earns the paid-tier points for pricing clarity (D2), because its page states the unit, the billing period and the annual figure. remove.bg does the same on its credit pack, so the price rows are not the difference.
The free-access row is close to even. Both products offer a trial, and neither states a free allowance with a number attached to background removal, so both score 30 on that dimension.
Who each one suits
Choose Photoroom if your work is a steady run of photos through one editor, and you want a monthly export quota to plan around. The Pro quota of 1,000 exports per month is the figure to budget against.
Choose remove.bg only for a short, one-off job that finishes before 1 December 2026, and only if a single $3 pack covers it. Do not start a longer project on its credits, because they expire on the same date.
What neither score tells you
The score does not measure edges, hair or transparent objects. This category has no public benchmark we could reproduce, so the method leaves those out on purpose. Neither product states a full-resolution free preview, so the D1 dimension is zero for both. Prices can move after the read date, so confirm each figure on the vendor’s page before any payment.
Evidence and method
The sources are the two pricing pages linked in the scorecard, read on 2026-10-16. remove.bg’s notice is quoted from the same page. The scores come from the method page, where each rule and weight is published so you can recompute both totals. If a vendor changes its page, the totals change with it, and this post is updated as a dated revision. Before you upload, read the checklist for a background remover, and for a comparison with a design suite, see Canva vs Photoroom.
FAQ
Which is better, remove.bg or Photoroom?
On bestbackgroundremover.org's 2026.10 method, Photoroom scores 48.0 and remove.bg scores 33.0. The gap comes mostly from remove.bg's service notice and from Photoroom's listed batch exports. Neither score measures output quality.
Should I still buy remove.bg credits?
Only for work you can finish before 1 December 2026 at 9:00am CET. remove.bg's pricing page says its credits expire on that date and that background removal is moving to Canva.
Does Photoroom have a free plan?
The pricing page read on 2026-10-16 shows a free trial and paid plans from $12.99 per month, or $7.50 per month billed yearly. It does not state a permanent free background-removal allowance, so bestbackgroundremover.org scores its free access as a trial.
Read the method · Back to the list · All versus posts and guides