remove.bg vs Slazzer: Credits, Preview Limits and API Rates in 2026
remove.bg vs Slazzer on published terms: credit prices, the 0.25 MP free preview, the stated API rate and remove.bg's 2026 service notice. Verdict first.
Verdict: Slazzer ranks higher on bestbackgroundremover.org’s 2026.10 method, 52.5 against 33.0. Its credit prices, API rate and commercial-use condition all sit on its pricing page. remove.bg’s own page says the standalone website will no longer be available from 1 December 2026, and that is the main reason it scores lower. For a developer pipeline, Slazzer’s stated API rate is the more useful fact. For a single image before the notice date, remove.bg’s 3-credit pack at $3 is the lowest-cost option on its pricing page.
Background removal, as this site uses the term, lifts a photo’s main subject off its backdrop. remove.bg and Slazzer both sell it by the credit. Slazzer also says its desktop apps are built on top of its API, so most of its usage runs through the cloud. This comparison uses only the published pricing and FAQ text, read on 2026-10-16. It does not test output quality.
Scorecard
| field | remove.bg | Slazzer |
|---|---|---|
| Entry plan | 40 credits for $9 per month (pricing) | 100 credits for $11 per month, excluding VAT (pricing) |
| Larger plan | Not in the fields read | 300 credits for $36; 1,000 credits for $94 |
| Top-up or pay-as-you-go | 3 credits for $3, expiring 1 December 2026 | 10 credits for $6 |
| Free access | Basics at no cost, plus 1 trial credit | 2 free credits; unlimited previews on the website |
| Free preview size | Not stated on the page read | Up to 0.25 MP |
| API | API and integrations listed under Basics | Up to 500 images per minute, as stated in its FAQ |
| Commercial use | Not stated | Allowed with a top-up or a subscription of at least 300 credits |
| Local option | Not stated | Not stated; desktop apps use its API |
| Service notice | Standalone website no longer available from 1 December 2026 | None found |
| Total, D1 to D8 | 33.0 | 52.5 |
Credits: same unit, different expiry
Slazzer charges one credit per image, and on its 100-credit plan it shows $0.11 per image. Its FAQ also says unused subscription credits roll over. remove.bg’s pay-as-you-go credits expire on 1 December 2026 at 9:00 AM CET, which is the same date as its service notice. A credit that expires on a fixed date is worth less than one that rolls over, so the expiry matters more than the headline price.
Free previews
Slazzer’s previews are capped at 0.25 megapixels. Its FAQ gives 625 by 400 pixels as the example, and it says previews are free only on its website. Use a preview to check the edges of a subject before you spend a credit on the full file. remove.bg’s pricing page, read on the same date, does not state a preview size, so the method gives it zero on the free-preview dimension.
The API question
Slazzer states an API ceiling of up to 500 images per minute. remove.bg lists “API and integrations included” under its Basics tier, but the page read does not give a rate. If your batch depends on a rate, Slazzer’s 500 images per minute is the only rate figure on either pricing page read, so it is the figure to plan against.
Commercial use
Slazzer’s FAQ says commercial use is allowed with a top-up or a monthly subscription of at least 300 credits. The method scores that as a condition tied to a paid tier, which earns 50 on the license dimension. The remove.bg page read on the same date states nothing about commercial use, so it scores zero. The method does not infer a commercial right from a silent page.
Who each one suits
Choose Slazzer if you need a per-image price, a stated API ceiling and a clear credit rule. Its subscription tiers and top-ups give you a predictable cost per image, and its API rate is written down.
Choose remove.bg only for a single job that finishes before its notice date. A small pack can cover one project, but it does not give a long-term path, because the standalone website is no longer available from 1 December 2026.
Limits of this comparison
The comparison covers published terms only. It does not measure how either tool handles hair, glass or fine detail, and it does not cover enterprise contracts. A remove.bg help-center summary gives a 0.25 MP preview figure, but it is a second-hand summary, so this post does not use it for scoring. For the full rules, see the method page. For the same method applied to a photo editor, see Remove.bg vs Photoroom.
FAQ
Which scores higher, remove.bg or Slazzer?
Slazzer scores 52.5 and remove.bg scores 33.0 on bestbackgroundremover.org's 2026.10 method. Slazzer states clear credit prices, an API rate and a commercial-use condition. remove.bg is scored down on its 1 December 2026 service notice.
Is the free preview size the same for both?
Slazzer states that its free previews are up to 0.25 megapixels on its website, and a capped preview scores zero on that dimension. The remove.bg pricing page read on 2026-10-16 does not state a preview size, so it also scores zero.
What does Slazzer's API limit mean for a batch?
Slazzer says its API can process up to 500 images per minute. That is a stated ceiling, not a guaranteed throughput for a given account or image size.
Read the method · Back to the list · All versus posts and guides